>PAX 2010 Impressions

>HAIL TO THE KING BABY!

Boobies, Blowjobs and Bubblegum. Probably one of the biggest games of the entire show. Most of the days I was there, the line was so long that they stopped letting people in because it would take 4 hours to get through it. It was also one of the few games there to have an age restriction(obviously), and man did it need one. Once you got through the line, you were sat down in front of large monitor where you were presented with a trailer for the game. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a trailer bombard you with so much nudity and fuck-bombs and still retain it’s bad-ass-ness. That plus the crowd cheering every now and then and some kick-ass trailer music, created a weird effect of wanting to beat everything in my path to a bloody pulp.
Then we get to play the game, I’m not gonna lie, it could use some polishing up, but from what I played, I was intrigued. Not being a big fan of Duke Nukem 3D, I can say that I had a lot of fun in this demo. The AI felt kinda unforgiving, hitting me when my pinky finger was sticking out of cover. But that’s more my fault for sucking at FPS games. The humor was entertaining. As the game opens up after the first playable level, you see Duke and his 2 “girlfriends” having a grand time while he plays his own game and cracks some jokes about it. I’m not gonna say too much on this but I hope a lot of people get a chance to play it in the future, definitely a buy in 2011.

Keep Your Head Above Water(Hydrophobia)

What I got story-wise from the game is that it’s set in the future where the world is being over-populated and there is not enough food/water for people. You take on the role of Kate Wilson, someone who has a fear of water “Hydrophobia” :D. From what I understood, you and the people you work with, have found a way to purify “undrinkable” water and make it “drinkable” for humans, thus helping the world in it’s time of crisis. But there are some people that don’t want this to happen and want the population to dwindle(the terrorists). I honestly didn’t get to play too much into this but to my surprise this game was an XBLA game o.O! WHATTTT!? I was stunned by the fact that this was not retail.
The water physics are incredible as the game utilizes the new “HydroEngine” made specifically for it. In various places in the demo, you have the opportunity to release more water into the main halls(shooting glass or opening doors) doing this sometimes aids you in your fight against these terrorists you are fighting against. I found the controls to be a little awkward, but nothing too hard to get used to. I also came across some glitches, like grabbing onto certain things may cause the camera to freak out or sometimes even the game to crash. But all-in-all it’s still pretty cool and I suggest you look out for it later this month on Xbox Live Arcade.

Why Is This On The DS!?(Okamiden)

I actually had a really hard time with the battle-system in this game, it’s not that it’s that much different from the original Okami, but the fact that the controls felt really clunky and the brush techniques really slowed down the gameplay since it has to switch screens whenever you activate it. I’ll still look out for it since it’s Okami, but I’m not biting my nails over it.

FATALITY!

Mortal Kombat is back and it kicks some major ass. Not only did they fix most of the problems that a lot of fans had with the previous few games, but they went back to the 2D-style of fighting and made the game surprisingly fast-paced. The tag-team feature was pretty fun, and influenced new ways to string combos together. They have stages brought back from the original games such as “The Pit” and the fatalities are as bloody as ever. Definitely a buy when it releases.

It’s A Final Fantasy World


First off let me talk about a little game on the DS called Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light. Another Final Fantasy installment by Square Enix, but this time, including a class-based system and the all-new Boost system. The characters in the game reminded me of the characters from Final Fantasy 3 for the DS. Most of the NPCs in the demo would tell jokes pertaining to the developers of the game or breaking the 4th wall, I found these endlessly entertaining for some reason :3.

Secondly, I want to bring up the next main-series Final Fantasy title, the MMO, Final Fantasy 14. This game looks magnificent and brilliantly stunning at points, but there were times when I thought the scenery looked kinda iffy. The character customization wasn’t as deep as I wanted it to be, but I’m used to things like White Knight Chronicles customization which is insane in it’s own right. The battle-system takes some getting used to, especially since I didn’t play Final Fantasy 11 which was the other MMO Final Fantasy game, but once you get used to it, it gets pretty fun to kill random animals every now and then. I made a mage since he started out with a variety of spells to use. Here’s a picture of him:

Of course since it’s Final Fantasy I will be picking this up, but whether I get it for PC or Playstation 3 is up in the air at the moment.

Game Of Show

MOTHERFUCKING BRINK! I was skeptical at first since I’m not too big on class-based shooters. But this game really surprised me. After playing it, I can honestly say this will probably be my Game of the Year for 2011. I played as a medic so I hung back most of the fight, supporting my team whenever I could and helping to fight off the opposing team. It was unlike anything else I played while I was there, the amount of times me and my teammates were yelling out enemy positions surprised even me who doesn’t normally get into these type of games. The parkour was really fun to use as well having a button that can leap over or slide under obstacles made gameplay very fast-paced and kept me on my toes through the entire fight. The medic class had the ability to revive teammates as well as boost their health, but they could ALSO revive themselves if they had the opportunity(you can’t constantly do this). It was a great experience and I’m excited as all hell for the release of this game.

Things I Checked Out But Didn’t Talk About:
Dead Rising 2 – Pretty much the same as the first one.
Ghost Trick – Awesome puzzle game for the DS.
Yakuza 4 – Pretty kick-ass.
Valkyria Chronicles 2 – Very awesome, I would’ve preferred it on Playstation 3.
Playstation Move – Made Heavy Rain like 3times more fun, might pick it up.
Firefall – Cell-shaded bad-ass multiplayer shooter for the PC, definitely getting it.
Infamous 2 – Very much like the first game, but with some new moves and weapons.
Little Big Planet 2 – Seems more physics-based than the first one, which is awesome.
Dead Space 2 – Kept me on the edge of my seat and made me jump at points.
Portal 2 – Didn’t show THAT much on it, but what I saw made me want it right away.
Marvel vs Capcom 3 – Got my ass kicked, Dante is awesome though.
Sengoku Basara Samurai Heroes – Much like Dynasty Warriors, but you can’t top Date Masamune.
Fallout New Vegas – I played a TINY bit and it felt a lot like Fallout 3.

Things I Didn’t Check Out:
F3AR
Kinect
Assassin’s Creed Brotherhood
Gran Turismo 5
Star Wars The Force Unleashed 2
Kirby Epic Yarn
Epic Mickey
Tron
Conduit 2
Sonic 4
Killzone 3
Swarm
Darkspore

About davethezombie
I watch anime on nearly a daily basis. I also try to read some manga every now and then.

5 Responses to >PAX 2010 Impressions

  1. >Duke Nukem and Brink look pretty cool, might give em a rent though. Also why doesn't my FF14 character have my awesome beard and sexy sideburns?

  2. Vensito says:

    >He does Dave, you just can't see it very well in the screenshot.

  3. lerxst2112 says:

    >I'm actually really interested in Brink. It looks to be a well made class-based shooter. I will def have to give it a go when it comes out.Also Ven I am dissapointWith the whole not playing F3AR 😐

  4. Vensito says:

    >Well I never beat the second one so D:.

  5. lerxst2112 says:

    >IMO, the second one is ok. Didn't have the same affect on me as the first one did.

Leave a Reply

