>First impressions on Hyakka Ryouran: Samurai Girls

>

Last night, I decided to take a look at Hyakka Ryouran: Samurai Girls, expecting some shoujo anime, where a bunch of anime girls have some super special power to fight bad guys. Although my expectations were well far off, what I got wasn’t much better either.

The episode starts off as a bunch of girls flying through the air, and taking down airplanes in the sky with a swift strike of their weapons. Ink splatters the screen as you see airplanes explode in mid-air. After the battle, the girls look over to the sea, viewing planes meeting their downfall into the depth of the ocean. “That’s actually pretty cool.” I thought at that moment. The next scene is what gives me itches. You see a black cloaked wearing guy who looks like someone out of Organization 13, in some sort of temple and seeing this bright light in front of him. As the light dims down, it is revealed to be a naked girl (of course, obligated anime rule that she must be naked), and she falls into his arms, wakes up from consciousness and kisses him, emitting a massive explosion (Sekirei much?). Any non-anime watcher at first glance would think, ‘This is utterly ridiculous’, and would’ve stopped watching right there. Understandable. Nevertheless, I proceeded to watch the episode. The next scene is same guy taking pictures around a temple, and discovers two other naked girls (obligated rule lolololol) in his dojo. Ink blots are used here to censor the boobles and vuginas. Interesting use of censorship, at the same time, can be very annoying.


Fuck you ink blots!

What follows it are a series of ecchi scenes, a totally not obvious lesbian maid, and a bunch of other nonsensical scenes. The art style seems pretty unique after watching the first few minutes, but really, it’s just a thicker black outline added to each character. I did notice the first time I heard Sanada’s voice, that it was clearly done by the infamous voice actress, Rie Kugimiya, who’s done other well known roles in other animes (i.e. Taiga from Toradora, Louise from Zero no Tsukaima), and of course the character is flatchested. I don’t know if this is a homage to her other characters or that this is a mere coincidence.



♫ I love tsunderes, yes I do. I love tsunderes, how bout you? ♫

I honestly don’t know where this anime is leading me to. So far it seems to be full of cliches and overused plot lines that pull a strain on the show. I certainly hope it gets better from here, because I simply don’t see the appeal factor in this. Maybe as the show progresses, I could be well wrong about the show. But I think I’m right. 🙂

About davethezombie
I watch anime on nearly a daily basis. I also try to read some manga every now and then.

5 Responses to >First impressions on Hyakka Ryouran: Samurai Girls

  1. lerxst2112 says:

    >Its funny you mention Sekirei, cause I just finished the first season and started Pure Engagement 😛

  2. Jeroz says:

    >There are a significant number of bigger chest size characters from Rie Kugimiya, it's just that people tend to associate her with the flat ones more.You'd have to admit the artwork does look unique and nice.Not just the thicker outline, but the after-effects are pleasant on the eyes as well.At least with the ink dots you know the production studio is being serious about their approach towards censorship, which is a plus.

  3. >I'm liking it so far, any news about an uncensored version?the ending is hawt 3:

  4. >I'll give it that the art style is pretty neat, but I feel that the style alone couldn't be it's saving grace. As for the uncensored version, no idea, don't care that much for it though.

  5. SelfTorment says:

    >yeah i think the art style is pretty cool but for me the art style can only go so far.I need a good story and so far i'm getting nothing from this.I'll keep watching but if the story isn't good i'll drop it.

Leave a Reply

