>Anime Review: Mayoi Neko Overrun

>

Now normally, I don’t do reviews on the blog and instead save it for the show, but I’ll make a special case. Today, I decided to finish the rest of Mayoi Neko Overrun. I started to watch this series awhile ago in early spring and then just kinda delayed watching the rest until now. What I was missing from those last episodes wasn’t very much. Let’s break it down:


Cats suck.

Mayoi Neko Overrun, which translates to Stray Cats Overrun!, is about an orphan kid, Tsuzuki Takumi, taken under the care of his sister-in-law, Otome, and his childhood friend, Fumino Serizawa, who both work at a bakery known as the Stray Cats. One day, Otome finds a cat-girl looking orphan, Nozomi, and takes it under her care. And that’s it. That’s the plot. For most of the seires, they fuck around, doing stuff that don’t add to any plot. If I had a nickel for every time I got bored during the show, I would have all the money in the world… and then it would be worth nothing. There’s no apparent reason why Nozomi has her cat-like qualities, or even explained for that matter. Of course, this ends typically in her being taken away by some antagonist for some silly reason, and of course, they let her stay because she’s “family”. Haven’t I seen this before? Oh right. In just about every fucking harem show. Is it just that difficult to be a little creative? I’m getting sick of this overused formula. The series spans 13 episodes, but 12 are part of the actual series. The last show is just a summary of what happened with oh so snarky commentary from the voice actresses.

Going into the characters, first we have the generic main character of just about every harem, Takumi. Takumi’s slightly smarter than most main guys. He’s aware that his childhood friend, Fumino, is a liar, and will always say the opposite thing of what she really means. He’s just dense enough that he can’t put two and two together. “I hate you!”, Fumino will say. Well no shit, she must like him. It’s not rocket science here, kid. Speaking of Fumino, she’s just about what every tsundere is, except even more hostile to the main character. Now, I like tsunderes as much as the next guy, but this is too much. I believe a good tsundere has to open herself up a bit and do her part in the relationship. However, she does not accomplish this. KindalikeAsukalololol. That aside, she can be pretty cute at times. But she’s too bitchy. Of course, their relationship doesn’t improve nor hasten by the end of the series. It just remains on a consistent line of I-love-you-but-I-hate-you. It’s very tiring to see. (I expect Asobi to end this way as well) Dave never gets what he wants. Nozomi herself, is just your average ditzy but different girl character. She’s naive, but soft-hearted. Most of the series doesn’t even revolve around her, so it’s a mystery why they made cats the center of attention here.

Derp, I wonder why she hates me so much. Hurr.

Otome is an even ditzier character, with gigantic breasts, and doesn’t mind her bikini top falling off constantly. Of course, with every harem, there’s a loli character: Chise. Chise’s your typical rich princess bitch who tries to buy the love of Takumi at every chance she gets. She’s loud-mouthed and constantly obnoxious. Aside from the main cast, Takumi has otaku friends who are into 2D girls. How much more generic can this show get? So in other words, there aren’t any interesting characters in Mayoi Neko Overrun. I’m honestly curious if the creator of the show was aiming for originality at all, or just trying to score a quick buck.


Can you find the ditzy girl in this picture?

The art style isn’t terrible, but it isn’t anything special either. It certainly doesn’t look like a 2010 anime in any way. The humor was mostly subtle, sometimes too forced. I’ll admit I chuckled once or twice during the series, but that’s as far as I’ll give it credit. Not even the special episode, a parody of mech animes, could even bring me to tweak a smile. It’s frustrating to see this turn out so plainly bland, when this could’ve been at the very least, decent. It felt like a chore to drudge through the show, expecting anything to pop any interest out of myself. I’m very confused. How can mediocre stuff like this manage to get an anime adaptation, when there’s so much more interesting stuff in the manga world. I’m just flabbergasted.

I give Mayoi Neko Overrun a 2 out of 5. ★★☆☆☆

About davethezombie
I watch anime on nearly a daily basis. I also try to read some manga every now and then.

3 Responses to >Anime Review: Mayoi Neko Overrun

  1. Vensito says:

    >It's a shame to hear this, still not gonna stop me from watching it though, but I'll set my expectations lower than what I had them at(which were already extremely low anyway).

  2. SelfTorment says:

    >Yeah i got the same feeling watching this show.it was like i've seen this many times.The reason i think they don't go for the more interesting mangas for anime adaptations. is because they have seen that shows like this work and don't want to take of risk of picking up an unknown manga.But thats just what i think.

  3. AbyssHeart says:

    fuck! T-T

Leave a Reply

