>Manga Review: Hellstar Remina(Might Contain Disturbing Images)

>
Fuck Junji Ito, he has caused me to develop new phobias and deprive myself of sleep for too long!

Now, I mean this in the nicest way possible. He is probably one of my favorite mangakas just for his sheer genius in being able to instill fear into people the way he does. I absolutely loved Uzumaki and I think it’s one of the finest horror mangas out there. But I want to talk about another work of his called Hellstar Remina.

The story centers around Remina, the daughter of Professor Oguro who has won the Noble Prize for his discovery of a new planet, which he decides to name after his daughter. This new “Planet Remina” is carefully observed by scientists while it is 16 light years away from Earth. Eventually they start to get wary of it though, seeing as it seems to be devouring stars that are in it’s path. It starts heading towards Earth for some unknown reason, eating up the Solar System as it makes it’s way there. This leads to a world-wide panic on Earth under the assumption that the world is going to end.

The people think that the professor and Remina are to blame for this and decide to hunt them down and sacrifice them for the sake of “saving the planet”. I saw this as a way to depict the desperations that people have when faced with certain doom, the things they do based solely on survival instincts are almost unworldly. From there, it basically ends up being a giant chase with a lot of characters springing up with coincidences up the ass. But one scene stands out as one of the coolest things ever. That is when Remina(the planet) starts spinning the Earth with it’s “tongue” and makes it to where people can fly!


Super Hobo Away!

The art style is very reminiscent of his other works, which is good because I like the detail he puts into his images. The plot was relatively average. Unknown entity bringing the destruction to the world and the steady downfall of mankind, but it was handled really well with a focus on characters that were developed pretty good for a 6 chapter long story. I found myself really attached to our little Remina character as the story progressed. Granted some characters just came and went and I never felt like I really knew them at all.

Some of the twists were a little weird and somewhat unrealistic, but that didn’t take away from my overall enjoyment. Also the ending left a lot to be desired and I don’t think it was handled as well as it could have been. This definitely was not as terrifying as I was expecting it to be, but it had certain moments that made me scared to go to the bathroom. Most of those moments were in the final chapter though.


The last chapter is a little bonus and has nothing to do with the overall story in the first 6 chapters. I don’t wanna talk too much about it because it still gives me the chills. Let’s just say it involves sewing people together.

Overall, I’m a giant fan of this man’s work and Hellstar Remina is no exception, even though it was sort of lacking in the scary department. It was still a great and interesting read, but if you are in anyway squeamish or can’t handle disturbing images, I wouldn’t recommend reading this. If you think you can handle it though, I highly recommend you check it out, and many of his other works as well ;3.

I give Hellstar Remina a 4 out of 5. ★★★★☆

About davethezombie
I watch anime on nearly a daily basis. I also try to read some manga every now and then.

3 Responses to >Manga Review: Hellstar Remina(Might Contain Disturbing Images)

  1. >Sounds pretty fucked up like Umineko, though it sounds like a story where no one survives.

  2. Reaper says:

    Just read it yesterday very good read the hobo is an awesome character

  3. Reaper says:

    As long as you’re still alive there is hope

Leave a Reply

