Love is in the air

Ah yes, today is Valentines day. In spite of this day, I’d like to discuss one of my favorite genres. Romance.

Love is what makes the world go round. “Now join your hands, and with your hands your hearts.“. But enough Shakespearean talk, romance is the sweetest scent of a show. It makes me care about a character, understand that character, and maybe even relate to one. But romance must be done well. It cannot be half-assed, and thrown to the side for filler or whatnot. More than often, it should be considered as an important element in a story.

Love is not banging as many hos and bitches as you can, impregnating them, then leaving them for another woman. That’s just unsanitary and disgusting. It is not dressing up your girlfriend in an animal outfit and videotaping her for your personal pleasures. It is not masturbating over her while she is comatose and undergone serious mental damage to her brain. It is not a one kiss, and “let’s fuck” scenario, then breaking up the next day.  Love is being there for the one you truly care about, in sickness and in health.

Now I’m sick and tired of seeing uncommitted characters puss out too easily on a relationship. Make a decision and stick to it, boy. I miss the couples who are madly in love with each other. It’s a good feeling to see two characters you really enjoy be together. But then AGAAINNN there are some shows where the two characters are completely retarded for each other, it’s almost too frustrating to watch. Just one of them would need to grow a pair, and do the deed.

Now I hate the idea that romance has to be a girl thing. Why should guys have to only like what is claimed to be the most manliest of things. If anything, being stubborn and stuck up over silly things like this, makes one even less of a man. “BUT DAAAAVEE, you gotta have dudes fighting the fuck out of each other. Blood! Gore! Violence!” Yes, that’s all neat and all, but there’s no feeling to it. Are we not human? Do we not care what happens to anyone anymore? Since when was apathy a cool thing? I look at Spike Spiegel, and I see one of the most apathetic characters created in anime. He’s sly, and has good moves, but he just doesn’t give a shit. Say someone close to him dies, he gives a cold look, shrugs, and moves on. A good character would go into a deep depression, maybe even mentally unstable. This is more realistic to me, than someone who tries to act cool in front of his viewers.

You know what? To hell with it. Let’s bring back the romance shows. As far as I know, Kimi ni Todoke‘s the only show focused on romance this season, and even that can be frustrating to see. Is this all we have this season? I sincerely hope the spring season will have more than just one. Cmawn gaiz, let’s spread the love.

About davethezombie
I watch anime on nearly a daily basis. I also try to read some manga every now and then.

7 Responses to Love is in the air

  1. >Top 5 Best Kiss Scenes, c'maaawwwn maaayn, anyways, i expected you to post a video or some thing along the lines of that. I like how you have True Tears up top yet you say Kimi ni Todoke is the only show focused on romance? waaaaaaaaaaaaaat |:

  2. >Sorry, I meant this season.

  3. lerxst2112 says:

    >I'm with Dave on this. I think I prefer romance over any other type of genre. I mean, 3 of my top 5 are romances, so yea, here's to love < 3

  4. Bre4kdown says:

    >Well as of all the shows so far. I also feel that the romance genre needs to make a comeback. I'm actually never have seen Kimi ni Todoke but I've seen quite a few romance types (which may or may not be good).

  5. drasil says:

    >It all comes back to business. Biggest consumers of anime and their products are males, so the industry caters to the interests of males which equates to the fighting, blood, gore, ecchi, and moe. Because of that choke point, some romance/shoujo series are barely trickling through and getting a chance to be animated. Thus, I feel that manga is the best place to find really great romance/shoujo stories, and it also doesn't hurt to check out olds ones that have been animated.P.S. Now you have all the more reason to check out Bokura Ga Ita, because I guarantee you it will be an anime you'll love. Just the amount of thought and care that went into a lot of the things in the anime, especially the dialogue, is amazing.

  6. >Ain't that the sad truth. I'll get into Bokura ga ita right after I finish a couple series. I'm just a little hesitant that it might have too much melodrama. I know I shouldn't judge a book by its cover. So I'll look into it and give it a chance.

  7. drasil says:

    >Bokura Ga Ita's not really melodramatic, but there is drama. I think one of the big messages of the anime is that relationships aren't always rainbows and butterflies. That it's about sticking with it through those tough times where the real love blossoms, and you really get to know and connect with your significant other because of overcoming those ordeals. That's where love is at its most beautiful.

Leave a Reply

