Oyasumi Punpun First Impressions

So while I was doing my typical late-night thing of never sleeping and reading random mangas, I came across one called Oyasumi Punpun or “Goodnight Punpun”. The thing that caught my eye is that is was done by Inio Asano who I most notably recognize for making Solanin which I have been planning to read for quite some time now. And I have to say, after reading about 3 chapters of this, I will quickly bump most of his other works up on my “Giant List of Things to do” list.

This is Punpun, the main character of our story.

Now, I know that Punpun might seem a little different from your average MC. But trust me, he’s great. A man a few words living out his youthful childhood looking for love in all the right places. That’s Punpun.


This is Aiko Tanaka, Punpun has romantic feelings for her.

Aiko seems like your normal everyday school girl at first glance. BUT LITTLE DID WE KNOW, that she is actually a rising star! Aiming to be the best that she can be so that before the Earth is depleted of all it’s oil and becomes uninhabitable she can live out her days to the fullest(at least that’s the impression I’m getting). The first 3 chapters were mainly about your dreams and what you want to be when you grow up. Aiko knows exactly what she wants to be. Actress, model, singer, any of those are fine with her! But Punpun doesn’t really have an idea of what he wants to be. That is, until he decides he wants to be a space scientist!!!


This is God, he is awesome.

He is the cause for most of the awesome that goes on so far. Like this:

But we can’t forget the crazy teacher!

He’s almost as awesome as these guys:

Well anyway getting back on the subject, after only reading 3 chapters of this manga, I can honestly say I was taken aback by how incredibly interesting it is, and how it deals with various childhood problems like marital issues and first love, yeah, that sorta thing. I’m probably gonna end up loving this to death and I’m hoping to talk more about it later once I catch up to it, I’m also gonna get ready to read most of his other works as well so I have some good things to look forward to in the future.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m gonna go read more of this bitch.

About vensito
I have never eaten pie before.

7 Responses to Oyasumi Punpun First Impressions

  1. drasil says:

    Wait till you get to the joke about his brain and his penis.

    • drasil says:

      I’d also recommend checking out Nijigahara Holograph which is also done by Inio Asano, and is quite short. It’s pretty surreal and disturbing at times, in an interesting way.

      • vensito says:

        I’m about 47 chapters in now, this got way more depressing than I thought it would be, and I like it :3.

  2. joseqq says:

    Man, I should really read this.. God doesn’t look like a hippie in this one! awesome.

  3. lerxst2112 says:

    That isn’t God. This is God right here

  4. chris says:

    Did you… did you happen to come across a single comic panel page of the principal and other teacher playing hide and seek/ tag you’re it, posted on 4chan and spend the rest of their night/morning reading Oyasumi Pun-Pun? I sure did, months ago.

    As long as you didn’t come across a comic store and ask the dweeb behind the counter if they sold “Goodnight Penguin” or “Oyasumi Pun-pun” a get looked upon like a deranged smackie, like I did. That would not be the best move available.

Leave a Reply

