Everyday Expectations

The Tatsuya Ishihara and Kyoto Animation team have created a lot of incredible shows; Clannad After Story, Suzumiya Haruhi, The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya, Kanon, Kannagi (and Ishihara has had affiliation with KyoAni in works like Full Metal Panic!:TSR, FMP?:F, K-ON!, K-ON!!, and Lucky Star and a few more). KyoAni’s shows have stories that are deep and compelling to silly and light, and the animation is littered with amazing directing and cinematography. As the title suggests, the next KyoAni/Ishihara project Nichijō has many expectations for me.

Of course, I don’t expect visually staggering cinematography like in Disappearance, or a dramatic masterpiece like After Story, but I’m hoping for a successful and impressive slice of life story with clean and smooth animation, preferably akin to K-ON!. So far, from watching the recently released OVA, that’s what I’ve seen. It’s cute, it’s funny, the animation is nice, and overall it’s enjoyable. Seeing as it’s just an OVA, I’m even more excited for the actual series itself.

If you already haven’t, go watch the OVA subbed by UTW.

About Suda
Video games and anime reviews.

2 Responses to Everyday Expectations

  1. lerxst2112 says:

    Next to Maria Holic Alive, my most anticipated show for the Spring season. I expect good things from this season.

  2. I’m not sure how I feel about this show yet. From the OVA I saw, the animation was pretty good, but I wasn’t really feeling the comedy. It felt somewhat similar to the first few episodes of Lucky Star.

Leave a Reply

