First Impressions on a Few 2011 Spring Anime

My Spring Break is over...

So now that I have watched an episode of most of the shows that I’ll be following for this lovely spring season, I would like to present to you my [obligatory] first impressions! I’ll be adding the impressions of the shows I have yet to watch as I watch them. In order of broadcast by day…

Astarotte no Omocha

I started reading the manga knowing that an anime adaptation was coming, and I only read 5 or so chapters just to get a taste of what it would be like. I found an ecchi and loli filled show with a light plot that sets itself up for comedy, and possibly some drama. The first episode was completely different than the manga, but at the end of the day, it’s still on track and following the story. The main character’s voice actor was extremely surprising because despite the character being a 20-year old man with child-like features, he sounds extremely young. Extremelyyoung. It’s no big deal though. The animation is pretty nice since it’s being done by the same people who did Ika-musume which had great animation.

Hanasaku Iroha

What this show immediately impresses me with is its animation. It’s good looking, and the character designs are great, the environment is detailed, and overall it’s easy on the eyes with its color tones and lighting. I’m pretty faithful in this show knowing that it carries a coming-of-age theme which to me is one of the best to use. So far, the story is easy to understand and I’m waiting to see how it turns out in the days to come. It has a pretty wide range of characters that don’t seem to fall too far from the typical archetypes you see often. I have a lot of faith in this show, and I’m hoping that it delivers a great drama that delivers a message to its viewers.

Oretachi ni Tsubasa wa Nai

Otherwise known as, “We Don’t Have Wings.” What at first sounded like a generic harem from overhearing conversation of my colleagues turned out to be something different. OTN, while still being a harem, comes across as a potentially good and mysterious drama. The first episode is hectic, and I’ll say that much. It introduces three different characters, of course many more but with these three as the centre, Narita Hayato and Chitose Shuusuke and the third man whose name I must have missed. The first two, taking place in the same town I believe, are enjoyable because of Shuusuke’s setup for comedy being in a bar with a cynical friend and a mixed-minded perverted bartender, and Hayato’s cool personality. The third character carries a mysterious story, claiming to be from another world, and we have yet to see what comes about. What jumps at me with this show (aside from the teeming shots of panties) is the crossing of paths of the characters which I for one adore in any good story. As there are only two episodes, I have yet to see what this show can dish out, and I’m waiting with anticipation.

Ao no Exorcist

Impressions underway

The World God Only Knows 2

Because of the announcement at the end of the first season that there was going to be a second season, I purposely did not read the manga. So, anything that comes my way will be a surprise. From what I’ve seen, the animation has gotten better than the last time, but still preserves that aura of TWGOK.The characters have remained the same, and the story continues right from where we left off. The first episode was simple and straightforward, and still is entertaining. Once again, it moves at a face pace, and the girl that was introduced in the first episode is definitely a like-able one.

A Channel

A cute, entertaining, and bright slice-of-life, A Channel carries a modest tone with lovable characters, an innocent plot, and an atmosphere akin to Lucky Star. Not to say it wasn’t funny, but the fact that this is the first episode and had to introduce the premise and plot, the humor and comedy barely got a jump-start, and I’m hopeful that the series will turn out to be an enjoyable and light comedy. The characters are innocent, and fairly unique. Tooru by far is my favorite character, being a quiet yet ferocious girl caring for her kind and giddy friend Run, and the other two are no less enjoyable.

Ano hi Mita Hana no Namae o Bokutachi wa Mada Shiranai (otherwise Ano Hana)

What I predicted to be an amazing drama turned out to be just that on the first episode. Ano Hanahas the potential to be a great tear-jerker about the life of six young adults who will go through what it means to grow up and change from childhood because of one tragic event. The animation itself is top-notch, the characters are far from typical, and this show has the ability to create an atmosphere and tone that feels real. For example, the common cicada, bright and clear sun to the warm and dim red sun, and the setting effectively make me feel like it’s summer, which it is. It felt like a real summer day to me. I expect a lot from this show, and I’m hoping that it doesn’t disappoint.

C The Money of Soul and Possibility Control

Impressions underway

Aria the Scarlet Ammo

Impressions underway

Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko

I’m a SHAFT fanboy, according to Dave at least. I favor Shinbo’s style of animation and the long dialogue, and visual stimulus that comes along with it. Denpa Onna takes a pretty different turn in SHAFT shows. Unlike most of its preceeding SHAFT shows, Denpa Onna doesn’t have much of the animation like Zetsubo-sensei or Bakemonogatari, or any other show after Negima!?. It’s still a long-winded show; the characters like to talk a lot. But aside from how it differs from its cousins, the show itself is quirky and strange. The animation is smooth and maintains a blue tone throughout most of it. The characters are new to me, especially that of Erio who is now an item of moe this season. I look forward to more of this show and more of Erio.

Dororon Enma-kun Meeramera

Impressions underway

Maria†Holic Alive

Maria†Holic Alive was my most anticipated show of this spring season. As such, I was expecting a first episode that would not necessarily recap the first season, but bring back everything it was about and squeeze it down into fresh new material that would run for 20-some minutes. Thankfully, that was what I got. Every character, and all the humor from the last season was brought back. The characters still remain the same, but have all returned with new material and more antics than the last. SHAFT has preserved Shinbo’s special style of animation just the way that the first season used it. I’m expecting a lot more from this show, and I know I will not be let down.

Hen Zemi

Undoubtedly the most odd and bizarre show of the season, Hez Zemiis about perversion. Literally. While the show itself doesn’t contain that much ecchi, it’s all about sex, and perversion. Since it’s by Xebec, it’s expected that there will be some [a lot of] ecchi here and there. I don’t really have a problem with this show except for one small thing. The professor is ugly incarnate. There’s not much to say about this show, and there’s not much to expect except a few laughs here and there.

Deadman Wonderland

Impressions underway

Nichijou

As the picture suggests, there is a lot to this show. It’s no simple slice-of-life comedy. It’s a surreal and energetic slice-of-life teeming with different types of characters, humor, and events to keep me entertained throughout. The best thing about this show is its animation. Of course, that’s to be expected when it’s being done by the dynamic duo of Kyoto Animation and Tatsuya Ishihara. This show is funny, it’s entertaining, it’s uplifting, it’s fast paced, and it’s definitely one of my favorites of this season.

About Suda
Video games and anime reviews.

2 Responses to First Impressions on a Few 2011 Spring Anime

  1. I’m still a little iffy on A Channel. The humor just doesn’t strike my fancy, nor are the characters very interesting to me. However, the new couple of drama shows that came out are pretty neat.

  2. drasil says:

    I was pleasantly surprised by both Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko’s sharp, witty dialogue and AnoHana’s gripping, anime-original story. Can’t wait to see more of both.

Leave a Reply

