Princess Tutu Specials Review?

So it’s been awhile since I’ve seen the anime Princess Tutu with Gabe and I thought it was a good time to finally bring up those “Special” episodes I’ve been pushing off to the side for so long. When we first started watching this series I thought of it as more of a joke than anything else, the title and premise of the show felt too girlish and ridiculous for me to take seriously. As it went on though, I started to fall in love with it more and more and now it’s one of my favorite animes out there, so you can imagine my delight when I found out about the specials. I was a little hesitant on watching them though. Hearing that they were recaps made me want to wait even longer to give them a looksie, only now am I slightly regretting it.


There are 3 special episodes, each one spanning about 11 minutes, and the first one being very different from the others. The episode starts off with one of Neko-sensei’s lessons where he’s trying to explain how to properly “view” a ballet. He goes on to explain certain things about the dances that act as the “battles” in the anime and how they are renditions of the particular ballet that is being presented. There’s also a short intermission in the middle that talks a little about the weird animal-students you see throughout the series.

Like this one:

Or this one:

WTF Is That!?

The other two episodes pretty much sum up the rest of the series. The 2nd one introduced the main characters and looked into everyone’s past, while the 3rd one felt more like a short version of the climax. Although these two episodes felt more like traditional recaps, they still reminded me why I found this series to be so amazing back when I first watched it, and seeing as I saw it in English dub first, getting to hear the amazing Japanese dub for the first time was a great experience as well. I tend to forget to mention the incredible soundtrack this anime has which consists almost entirely of classical music with tons of famous pieces anybody can recognize. Even though these episodes didn’t really have that many songs of their own, they brought back a lot of the scenes from the anime that had some of the more incredible musical scores.

As far as recap episodes go I thought they did a great job being creative with these, even though they kind of threw the idea out the window on the last episode. I felt very rewarded after watching these, and I still think the original anime can be enjoyed by anyone regardless of age or gender and if you have seen it I recommend you check out the Special episodes to get some back-story and understand it a little more if you felt like you were missing anything while watching it.

I guess if I were to score it I’d give it a 8/10.

Never Touch The Mytho

About vensito
I have never eaten pie before.

2 Responses to Princess Tutu Specials Review?

  1. sudatama says:

    My face, my beautiful face.

  2. oh…………….!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

