Anime Convention? What is that?

Anime Expo is just shy of a couple weeks away, and I am PUMPED. I have 4-day pass tickets right beside me, and well eager to check out what new things I’ll see at AX this year. Some of the guests confirmed are Danny Choo aka the Japanese Star Wars stormtrooper, Vic Mignogna, english dub voice of Edward Elric, Seji Mizushima, director of the FMA series, and Miyuki Sawashiro, japanese VA of Celty of Durarara, and Maria of the Arakawa series. There a few more musical guests attending like Kalafina, and … Hatsune Miku, but those are concerts that will cost quite a bit so I’ll be well skipping on that. Anyhow, I have 4 days to walk around, check out the panels and meet some pretty awesome people.

Anime conventions are purely awesome. They’re one of the few places where you can’t be criticized for liking foreign cartoons. The first time I went to AX was last year. I was absolutely stunned and in love with this place. “This is the place for people…. like ME!”. I got to see some sexy cosplay from many women, and… some obese men likewise. But I did get to snap some photos while I was there like:

And some other pictures I took along the way. Some didn’t come out so well so I’m not gonna bother posting them. I did catch a lot of Lelouch cosplayers. By god, I didn’t think there would be a series outdoing the cosplayers of Naruto and Bleach. I did buy some nice things while I was there as well such as mini model of Dokuro Chan, a model of Gurren Lagann, and a couple of other things. It was a beautiful beautiful place. The only downside to being there was that there was absolutely no place to sit down which just made me pretty irritated. Honestly, walking around and checking out the neat things at the convention can be fun, but very exhausting. I can’t recall the number of times where my legs just gave out and I had to take a rest by the entrance doors, not long before I was told by the staff to get up. But yes, I did have a lot of fun. I checked out the Eden of the East panel, where they were first showing the dub for the show, and afterwards had a panel discussion with the director.

About davethezombie
I watch anime on nearly a daily basis. I also try to read some manga every now and then.

5 Responses to Anime Convention? What is that?

  1. catchercatch says:

    I won’t be able to go to AX this year, sadly. I know what you mean when you say it’s a blast, however. I love going to anime conventions.

    By any chance, do you go to Fanime?

    • I know of Fanime, but never could go because of the distance. Reason why I could go to AX is because the location is so convenient. Believe me, I’d love to visit them all, but paying for hotel rooms and plane tickets really racks up the costs. You said ‘this year’ btw. Have you visited it before? Met any people from the industry?

      Also I see wordpress is screwing with my pictures again. Gonna have to fix that soon! =p

      • catchercatch says:

        Ah, damn. Well, I suppose that I’ll be meeting you in person if you go to AX next year, in any case.

        I’ve gone to AX only one year before, and it was a very awkward time. I met several new friends in the time, but I didn’t go to panels. What a waste, now that I think about it. When I do go again, panels galore, just like I do in Fanime.

  2. that Lucy cosplay just…. instant win.. because of boner, at least we dont get to see her gamer/otaku face.. :3
    she’s prolly not appealing underneath the helmet.

  3. lerxst2112 says:

    Its been about 2 years since I’ve been to a con. I’m planning to go to Anime Weekend Atlanta at the end of September. Been saving up my money to go. The main reason I really wanna go is because Brina Pelincia is going to be there this year and I’m hoping I can get her to sign my Eva Blu rays. Its gonna be a good con.

Leave a Reply

