Anime/Manga Question of the Week: Week #2

Sorry for the delay on week 2 of this post. Last week was incredibly hectic and busy what with school and me having to work a 40 hour week at work. But fear not, for I come with a new question to rattle your brains….ponder within your subconscious….tickle your fancy? Ah fuck it, I had a hard time thinking of some new and clever question so you guys are just gonna have to deal with this for the week until I think of something more thoughtful and interesting. So your Anime/Manga Question of the Week for this week is:

How many anime/manga do you like to keep on your watching/reading list at one time?

Now I know it is much easier to have a larger number of publishing manga on your reading list than it is to have airing anime on your watching list knowing that airing anime gets put out usually every week while publishing manga can be anywhere from weekly to monthly, but I’m still curious to know what everyone’s preference is on the amount of anime and manga they like to have on hand at once. I’m also talking about published manga’s and finished airing anime.

Let me give you a glance at my watching list from MAL.

Clearly, I have a lot more airing shows than I do non-airing. I usually like to keep one non-airing show on my watching list at all times. As for airing, I try to go for at least 10-12 shows per season and I if I like a show enough, I will also pick up any specials or OVAs of the series as well. And I also like to pick up the occasional ONA or OVA.

Now here is my reading list off MAL.

My reading list usually isn’t this large, or at least it didn’t used to be. But recently I have taken the initiative to pick up more publishing mangas. At the moment I want to finish some of the published mangas I have to shorten the list a bit so I can make more room for more publishing mangas. But at the moment, I am pretty comfortable with the number of reading mangas I have now. Of course, this doesn’t mean that I don’t like to add anything I find new and interesting on MangaFox every now and then.

So how many do you like to keep on your list? Do you like to keep it large and in charge like Vensito’s anime or manga list or do you like to keep it sweet and simple as to not overwhelm and clutter yourself with to much to watch or read? Let us know and stir up some discussion.

About lerxst2112
Former blog writer/podcast personality for Anime Afterlife Podcast and Desu Ex Machina and head writer for The Anime Kid. I've been watching anime consistently for 4 years now and see no end in sight. I love anything from Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, to Love Live, to Precure, and everything else in between. I also partake in video games, Magic: The Gathering, and sports (primarily American Football). I started writing back in 2011 when my friends over at Anime Afterlife Podcast decided to bring me on as a writer and podcast host. But once things started to fall apart there, I was brought on as a writer for Desu Ex Machina. But my time there ended and I decided to take a break from blogging to not only relax from blogging for a while, but to also sort out my personal life as well. Now I'm getting the itch to write again, and so The Anime Kid was born.

5 Responses to Anime/Manga Question of the Week: Week #2

  1. My anime watching list is too big for me to handle atm. I’m doing my best to keep it shorter and shorter as the fall season is approaching. I don’t like to keep my list stacked as it feels more and more like a chore to look at than to get some enjoyment out of watching those shows. As for my manga list, it’s even shorter, as it’s even more difficult to keep up with upcoming manga. It’s the reason why I generally wait for manga series to finish so I don’t have to worry about that kind of stuff.

  2. joseqq says:

    I don’t really care about how full it is, I am just too lazy to change stuff I’m not really watching to “on hold”. They can stay there as long as they want.

  3. sudatama says:

    I tend to not watch more than one series at a time unless, A.) it’s airing, or B.) I’m watching with someone else. So aside from watching a lot of different airing shows per season, I only watch one full series at a time.

    Reading is a different story, because they’re easy to keep up with, and I can read fast, so I have a lot at once.

  4. chibirob says:

    I usually try to avoid watching anything that’s not complete, I hate when a show might be good but overly censored making it unwatchable, or is put on hiatus with no completion date in site. But I like to keep at least 3 series on deck at all times. One that I can watch at work, one to watch at night, and something that I may power through on the weekend, or something that I can watch with the wife.

    Of course this leads to a Large backlog of shows to watch, some of which I’ve had for years but just have never gotten around to (one day Slayers, I promise… one day…). And not just fansubs but in some cases commercial DVDs and VHS.

    For my manga reading I’ve started converting series to PDF to read on my Nook, which has been working out, but considering the effort needed to convert it falls almost back to the same reason I bought limited manga, it needs to be Worth it, so usually its tied to an anime that I’ve seen and loved before I’ll go that extra mile.

  5. marthaurion says:

    i watch a lot of airing stuff, so my list gets pretty long
    if you took off everything that’s airing, there’d probably only be like 5 of them

Leave a Reply

