Anime Weekend Atlanta Preview

So come Friday, I will be attending this year’s Anime Weekend Atlanta. I have been looking forward to this convention for quite some time now since I haven’t been to AWA in over 2 years. There is so much going on this year that there just isn’t enough time to do it all. So here is just a preview of some of the people and things happening at this years AWA.

Guests of Honor

Naoko Matsui

Can’t say I’m overly excited about this seiyuu being at AWA. I know none of her work so I probably won’t get around to seeing her.

Yoshitoshi Abe

Now, I’m pretty excited to see someone like this at AWA this year. This is the original creator to Serial Experiments Lain and Haibane Renmei. Granted, I haven’t watched/read these series, but it is pretty cool to be able to meet an original creator to anime/manga.

Actors

Todd Haberkorn

The man behind the English voices of characters such as Firo from Baccano!, Ling Yao from Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, North Italy and United Kingdom in Hetalia Axis Powers and Hikaru Hitachiin from Ouran High School Host Club, just to name a few. I wasn’t really aware of his works until about a month ago so I can’t say I’m super excited about Todd Haberkorn being at AWA, but I will definitely check out his panel while I’m there.

Vic Mignogna

THE BLOND BOY WONDER HIMSELF!!!! This is the man behind the voices of characters like Edward Elric from Fullmetal Alchemist and Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, Tamaki Suoh from Ouran High School Host Club,  Broly from the DBZ movies and Kurz Weber from the Full Metal Panic! series. I gotta say, I got really excited when I found out Vig Mignogna was going to be at AWA. I’m really hoping I can get him to sign some, if not one of my FMA: Brotherhood copies. I will definitely be going to see him this weekend.

Brina Palencia

Oh me oh my, reason #2 why I’m excited for this year’s AWA. This beauty is the voice behind characters such as Ennis from Baccano!, Hideyoshi and Yuuko in Baka to Test, Rei from the Evangelion rebuild movies, Holo from Spice and Wolf and Natsuki from Summer Wars.  I’m super excited to hopefully meet Brina Palencia. Hopefully I can get her to sign my Summer Wars and Eva movies. One can only hope.

Of course there will be other industry people and actors but those are the main people of interest that will be at AWA. Other things to mention will be the world premieres of the English dub to Hetalia Axis Powers: Paint it White, Darker than Black Season 2 dub and Dragon Ball Z on Blu Ray. They will also be showing the Clannad Blu Ray, Katanagatari, Oreimo, Arakawa Under the Bridge and a laundry list of other assorted anime series and movies.

That my friends is a small preview of what I am expecting this weekend from Anime Weekend Atlanta. I will be tweeting non-stop while I am there so if you are interested be sure to follow me at @lerxst21121. I will also be taking many many photos of all the different cosplays and actors(hopefully) while I am there and have a second post up either that Sunday or the following Monday recapping everything I did. So be sure to check that out in the near future.

About lerxst2112
Former blog writer/podcast personality for Anime Afterlife Podcast and Desu Ex Machina and head writer for The Anime Kid. I've been watching anime consistently for 4 years now and see no end in sight. I love anything from Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, to Love Live, to Precure, and everything else in between. I also partake in video games, Magic: The Gathering, and sports (primarily American Football). I started writing back in 2011 when my friends over at Anime Afterlife Podcast decided to bring me on as a writer and podcast host. But once things started to fall apart there, I was brought on as a writer for Desu Ex Machina. But my time there ended and I decided to take a break from blogging to not only relax from blogging for a while, but to also sort out my personal life as well. Now I'm getting the itch to write again, and so The Anime Kid was born.

One Response to Anime Weekend Atlanta Preview

  1. joseqq says:

    looking forward to this, upskirts are very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

