12 Days of Anime Christmas: Day 1

WARNING: This post may contain spoilers to Summer Wars, Evangelion 2.0 and The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya

MOVIES MOVIES MOVIES!!!!

I have always been a huge fan of movies. And being an anime lover I also love anime movies. I mean, what’s not to love? You can pretty much get the bulk of a story in the span of like one and a half to three hours. And this past year I watched a good number of really amazing movies. A couple of those movies I would say are better than some Hollywood movies that I have listed as my favorite movies of all time. Just to spotlight a few, here are my three favorite anime movies that I watched this past year:

I do believe I have rewatched this movie more times than any other movie I watched this past year. It’s just so good. This movie (along with The Girl Who Leapt through Time and another movie I watched this year) is the reason Mamoru Hosoda is one of my favorite directors. The sheer creativity and amazing CG work in this movie is what sold me. That and the fact that I almost come to tears in this movie as well. And not because of the one sad moment in the movie, but because of the one bad ass moment in OZ. That moment is just so incredible that I just want to cry tears of joy and scream out “FUCK YEAH” to the rest of the world letting them know how great this movie is. The people of the Academy Awards should be embarrassed and ashamed for not at least nominating this film for an Oscar.

I’ve always been a huge fan of Evangelion. But when I heard about the Eva movies I was both excited and nervous. I was excited that Evangelion was being brought back on the big screen, but nervous as to whether or not I would like the new direction they were going to take the story with. After watching Evangelion 2.0: You Can (Not) Advance, those feelings were laid to rest. I loved this movie. I mean, what is not to love about cute girls in giant robots blowing the shit out of Angels? Oh, and all of the over the top psychological mind-fuckery that is also thrown around. Gotta love that shit too. The only downsides to this movie were the lack of Mari and how the fuck did Shinji get back to Nerv that fucking fast? Other than that, I love this movie.

I recently watched this movie with Gabe I believe a couple weeks ago. I honestly never thought any anime movie would top Summer Wars. Boy was I proven wrong. The beginning of The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya is a lot of what I already liked about the series: the characters. I have many series that have some of my favorite casts of characters, but Haruhi is definitely in my top 5. But the characters alone aren’t what make this my favorite anime movie of all time. It’s the moment where Kyon starts having an argument with himself on whether it truly is fun being with Haruhi, and the scenes that lead up to this internal debate. The way it is executed is brilliant. In most series when a character is having an argument or a struggle with themselves, it usually has that character talking to themselves in his/her head and then screaming out something embarrassing in the middle of a crowd or classroom. With this movie, it illustrates that argument by having Kyon’s reflection and a personification of his conscience  badger him with questions and tossing him back into previous scenes. That is what sells this movie for me. That is what makes this movie incredible.

Now these three movies aren’t the only good movies I watched this past year. I also watched Eva 1.0, Redline, The Girl Who Leapt through Time and a laundry list of other great movies. Of course I did watch a couple of not so good movies this year like Clannad: The Motion Picture and Aachi Wa Ssipak. I feel you need to balance out the good with the bad in order to remind yourself that not all things in life are wonderful. Plus it is always nice to watch a bad movie just for the fun of it and to point and laugh at how horrible it is.

Day 1 of the 12 Days of Anime Christmas: The movies

About lerxst2112
Former blog writer/podcast personality for Anime Afterlife Podcast and Desu Ex Machina and head writer for The Anime Kid. I've been watching anime consistently for 4 years now and see no end in sight. I love anything from Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, to Love Live, to Precure, and everything else in between. I also partake in video games, Magic: The Gathering, and sports (primarily American Football). I started writing back in 2011 when my friends over at Anime Afterlife Podcast decided to bring me on as a writer and podcast host. But once things started to fall apart there, I was brought on as a writer for Desu Ex Machina. But my time there ended and I decided to take a break from blogging to not only relax from blogging for a while, but to also sort out my personal life as well. Now I'm getting the itch to write again, and so The Anime Kid was born.

Leave a Reply

