12 Days of Anime Christmas: Day 3

Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex

Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex is an anime series that I have been wanting to watch for a very long time. I used to watch episodes here and there on Adult Swim late at night way back in the day. How far back in the day do you ask? I remember going to Media Play on weekends and looking at the Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex DVDs and wanting to buy them. Yeah, Media Play. Anyone other than me know what that is? No? Well anyways, this past year I finally brought myself to sit down and watch the actual series.

I will say this now, Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex isn’t for everyone. There is a large amount of dialogue that makes up this series. So if you aren’t into reading a ton of text or listening to people ramble on for entire episodes,  then this show isn’t for you. I can recall at least one or two episodes of the first season alone that had nothing but dialogue. No action. Just dialogue. However, if you are into deep and well written dialogue between characters that create character and plot development, then look no further than Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex. The first season starts off at a slow tempo with introducing the members of Section 9 with different cases they take on as an organization. It takes the first season a few episodes to really get into the meat of what its focused on, The Laughing Man case. Once it does get started with that case it switches between the Laughing Man and other random cases the main characters are given. But this really doesn’t throw off the flow of the show in my opinion. The outside cases Section 9 takes on are actually really interesting and fleshed out. And the Laughing Man case itself is just great. There are a multitude of The Catcher in the Rye references throughout the progression of the case which I love because that book is one of my favorites of all time. So having that thrown in with everything else made the first season such a joy to watch

Throughout my experience with the first season of Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex, Vensito would always tell me how great 2nd Gig was compared to the first. So once I finished the first season I immediately started 2nd Gig. And where 2nd Gig differs from the first season is that it starts out immediately with the main case, The Individual Eleven. It also focuses more on the Individual Eleven case and does less side cases than the first season. I won’t say I favored 2nd Gig’s style over the first season’s because I love both seasons, but I feel I got more out of the Individual Eleven story than I did with the Laughing Man. And with a bigger focus on the Individual Eleven I got more of the psychological aspect of the series that I liked seeing. Not only that, I also experience one of the most well written anime’s I’ve ever seen. A majority of what was said and discussed between characters made me sit and really ponder about what was going on and how it all fit in the grand scheme of things. It really was an incredible season and I enjoyed every minute of it. Not only was the season as a whole amazing, but the opening and ending were damn good. Best opening and ending combination for a season of anime ever.

And what kind of Ghost in the Shell post would this be without mentioning the Tachikoma

Day 3 of the 12 Days of Anime Christmas: Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex

About lerxst2112
Former blog writer/podcast personality for Anime Afterlife Podcast and Desu Ex Machina and head writer for The Anime Kid. I've been watching anime consistently for 4 years now and see no end in sight. I love anything from Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, to Love Live, to Precure, and everything else in between. I also partake in video games, Magic: The Gathering, and sports (primarily American Football). I started writing back in 2011 when my friends over at Anime Afterlife Podcast decided to bring me on as a writer and podcast host. But once things started to fall apart there, I was brought on as a writer for Desu Ex Machina. But my time there ended and I decided to take a break from blogging to not only relax from blogging for a while, but to also sort out my personal life as well. Now I'm getting the itch to write again, and so The Anime Kid was born.

2 Responses to 12 Days of Anime Christmas: Day 3

  1. chibirob says:

    I was always happy they did such a good job on the dub, trying to watch this subbed was a chore cause you always missed something lol

    • lerxst2112 says:

      I watched it subbed because I believe that the Ghost in the Shell Japanese voice acting is the one of the best in any anime I’ve ever seen

Leave a Reply

