12 Days of Anime Christmas: Day 6

Anime Weekend Atlanta

I do realize that I have made a post about this but if I were to skip over AWA as one of my favorite things of the year, then I might as well not call myself an anime fan. Anime Weekend Atlanta was quite possibly the most fun I have had this entire year. I met some really cool industry people like Vic Mignogna and Brina Palencia. I sat in on panels for Funimation and Aniplex as well as the panels done by Vic Mignonga, Brina Palencia and Todd Haberkorn. Not only did I see some people apart of the anime industry, but I also met some new and old faces. Meeting new people and seeing some old friends of mine I haven’t seen in years was probably my favorite part of AWA. But for the most part, it was meeting new people that I enjoyed the most. I know that I spend endless hours on Skype talking anime with my fellow co-hosts and discussing anime on our podcasts, but there is something about meeting a complete stranger and having long winded discussions about anime that gives you a new found appreciation for it. Now, I didn’t get to meet a whole lot of new people because I was too busy going from one event to the other and mindlessly venturing around  the dealers room, but there were two guys I met on the first day that I chatted with for a good number of hours. It was after all the main festivities of the first day and I went into the connecting hotel where all the anime screenings were held, sat down at the bar and just started having a few drinks. The two guys were sitting to my right discussing anime and whatnot. After about 20 minutes one of them turns over to me and introduces himself and the three of us started talking about all the things we did that day and just anime in general. This started around 10pm that night and the next time I check the time it was about 2 am in the morning. We then parted ways and sadly I didn’t see them again after that. Now, I don’t have a whole lot of friends where I live, let alone friends who are into anime as much as I am, but sitting there for those 4 hours talking anime with people who love anime just as much as I do was not only the most fun I had in a while but brought so much joy to me.  It’s such a wonderful feeling knowing that people who live in my area (my area being the metro Atlanta and Atlanta area) have the same love for anime as I do. It’s because of people like that that I do this podcast and go to conventions and anticipate going to next year’s AWA.

Now that I’ve covered that aspect, let’s talk about the Dealers Room. Boy, did I not spend a whole hell of a lot of time in the Dealers Room. If I had the money, I would have bought everything in that damn room. There was just so much cool shit in there that I just didn’t have enough money to get everything that I wanted. And I learned something from this past AWA. I learned not to spend most of my money on anime/manga and spend it on the more unique items in there. The reason I say that is because on the last day after more than half of my spending money was gone, I stumbled upon a dealer’s table with some really unique anime t-shirts imported form Japan. And man, there were some fucking awesome t-shirts there too. I wish I would have seen that table earlier that weekend and bought some of those shirts. Oh well, there is always next year.

 I realize I didn’t add any pictures to this post only because all my AWA pictures are in the actual post I made months ago which I linked above. Having said that and to wrap up and repeat myself again, AWA was an incredible experience. I cannot wait for next year’s convention because I have already saved up money to go in September 2012.

Day 6 of the 12 Days of Anime Christmas: Anime Weekend Atlanta

About lerxst2112
Former blog writer/podcast personality for Anime Afterlife Podcast and Desu Ex Machina and head writer for The Anime Kid. I've been watching anime consistently for 4 years now and see no end in sight. I love anything from Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, to Love Live, to Precure, and everything else in between. I also partake in video games, Magic: The Gathering, and sports (primarily American Football). I started writing back in 2011 when my friends over at Anime Afterlife Podcast decided to bring me on as a writer and podcast host. But once things started to fall apart there, I was brought on as a writer for Desu Ex Machina. But my time there ended and I decided to take a break from blogging to not only relax from blogging for a while, but to also sort out my personal life as well. Now I'm getting the itch to write again, and so The Anime Kid was born.

2 Responses to 12 Days of Anime Christmas: Day 6

  1. mike says:

    Check out macademi wasshoi, hilarious ecchi anime series.. unfortunately short. It has elements from a lot of different Otaku cultures.

    Also, 5 Centimeters Per Second is fitting for this time of year.

  2. D says:

    Missed AWA this year, seems like every time I don’t they have the best guests

Leave a Reply

