12 Days of Anime Christmas: Day 11

 

 

Let me introduce you to my friend Ian. That’s right people, I have actual friends. I met him at my place of work over a year ago. We hit it off pretty well when we first met because we were both into video games and what not. But I was a little hesitant to let him in on my love for anime and manga. But when you know someone for over a year, eventually you open up and let them in on things you wouldn’t originally tell them. So when I told Ian about how I did an anime podcast and watched anime/read manga on a daily basis, he took a bit of an interest in it. I would go about telling him about different shows I was watching and trying to get him to watch some. Eventually, he came around to accepting a recommendation. I first recommended him Baccano. And of course I recommended him the dub, because Baccano dubbed > Baccano subbed. He watched it and told me he really enjoyed it and said he was surprised that anime had the potential to be that good. So I told him that if he liked that, he would love Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood. And I know that I’ve talked up FMA: Brotherhood like no other, but it is my favorite anime of all time so it’s kind of hard for me not to. He accepted my recommendation and I let him borrow my FMA: Brotherhood Blu ray volumes. A week later he returned them to me and told me that Brotherhood was one of the greatest things he had ever watched. I’ve been recommending him animes to watch ever since.

 

Now, why did I tell you this story? It’s simple. I got someone into anime. I got someone who had no prior experience with anime and got him to like it. It’s pretty amazing when you accomplish something like that. It’s kind of fun to watch some good anime and then hand that off to someone you have gotten into anime and letting them enjoy in that experience as well. It’s kind of like my whole spiel on trading anime with my co-hosts. You get someone to watch one of your favorite animes while the other gives you one of theirs. Only in my situation with Ian, he doesn’t watch any anime other than what I give him. Which has it’s own reward I suppose.

 
Day 11 of the 12 Days of Anime Christmas: Forcing Recommending my friend Ian anime

About lerxst2112
Former blog writer/podcast personality for Anime Afterlife Podcast and Desu Ex Machina and head writer for The Anime Kid. I've been watching anime consistently for 4 years now and see no end in sight. I love anything from Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, to Love Live, to Precure, and everything else in between. I also partake in video games, Magic: The Gathering, and sports (primarily American Football). I started writing back in 2011 when my friends over at Anime Afterlife Podcast decided to bring me on as a writer and podcast host. But once things started to fall apart there, I was brought on as a writer for Desu Ex Machina. But my time there ended and I decided to take a break from blogging to not only relax from blogging for a while, but to also sort out my personal life as well. Now I'm getting the itch to write again, and so The Anime Kid was born.

3 Responses to 12 Days of Anime Christmas: Day 11

  1. crucifixxx says:

    Awww. Isn’t that sweet. I wish I had cool ass friends to talk anime with.

Leave a Reply

