A Spotlight on Couples

 

HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY EVERYONE!! I hope you are spending it with the one you love most. And if you aren’t, then have fun spending another day alone like I am. But hey, at least you don’t have to waste all your money away buying chocolates filled with toothpaste, roses that are going to die within a week, and a frilly card that plays Barry White music that your significant other is  just going to throw away the next day. But I’m not here to tell you how you aren’t going to get any today. I’m here to spotlight some of my favorite couples in anime, in the spirit of Valentine’s Day.

Couple #1

 

Senjogahara Hitagi and Araragi Koyomi. I start off with these two because it was this couple that made me want to make this post in the first place.  I, like many others, took a liking to these two right off the bat in Bakemonogatari. Senjogahara is a very dominant, straight-forward, and yes, sexy female character. Araragi is a multitude of different characters wrapped into one high school boy. Seeing the two of them form a relationship so early on in Bakemonogatari was a bit intriguing. I didn’t know what to expect from seeing the two of them as a couple. But as the show progressed I saw something really special. Their personalities almost fed off of each other. Senjogahara would make snide but smart remarks in a calm fashion to Araragi just to see him squirm while Araragi would  rebut back denying anything that she said as his ahoge goes wild. But not only are their back and forth verbal battles a joy to watch, it’s also their deep, though provoking conversations that add that extra flavor to the relationship. It feels like I’m watching two polar opposites, yet at the same time I see a couple that know each other better than many married couples. Actually, you could just go watch episode 12 of Bakemonogatari and that would pretty much sum up why I love these two. Now if only we could get more of this in Nisemonogatari.

 

Couple #2

 

Holo and Kraft Lawrence. A couple very similar to Senjogahara and Araragi. Holo is your everyday wolf deity with a quick wit, sharp tongue, and cast iron liver. Kraft Lawrence is an ordinary traveling salesman put in an extraordinary situation with a brain set on economics, and an eye for the best deal possible. So what makes them such a catch? Once again, it’s the charisma and the chemistry between the two. Holo is always at the ready to knock Kraft down a couple notches while Kraft retorts with a remark that lights a fire inside Holo. It’s the ongoing battle between the two on this journey North that eventually sparks some romance between both of them. At first Kraft is embarrassed to show or say his true feelings about Holo, to which Holo pokes fun at his lack of confidence. But in the second season you see him open up and show more affection and see a smile come on Holo’s face every time he does so. I really do love watching the two of these characters. I could watch an entire hour of these two converse with one another and not get bored with it because of how amazing the chemistry is between them. Having said that, THIRD SEASON WHEN????

 

Couple #3

Nino and Ichinomiya Kou (who I will be referring to as Recruit). Recruit is your rising young CEO and businessman. Nino is homeless and lives under a bridge. Two people at opposite ends of the spectrum.  And what brings these two together? Why, the most cliche of situations of course. Recruit gets his pants taken away by teenagers who tie it to the top of a bridge. As he tries to retrieve them, he meets Nino fishing on the same bridge. Recruit falls into the water in his attempt to retrieve his stolen pants and Nino saves him. Since the Ichinomiya family motto is “Never be indebted to anyone”, he repays Nino by vowing to help her “experience love” and living with her under the bridge. See, completely cliche. I think the greatest part of this whole relationship is that Nino is oblivious to pretty much everything. She has a velvet bed in her cardboard box of a house, yet she sleeps in the drawer under the bed. She has a hard time remembering anything so she relies on Recruit to remind her of a lot of things. This leads Recruit to become the teacher of everyone that lives under the bridge. The only thing she excels at is swimming and fishing. Yet Recruit falls for her. The more time he spends with Nino in the circus of a community that is under the bridge, the more in love he is with Nino. I guess you can find true love anywhere, even under a bridge.

 

Couple #4

 

I know a particular somebody who would be absolutely furious with me if I didn’t include Aisaka Taiga and Takasu Ryuuji on this list. And for good reasons, because this is the greatest love story ever told.  You have Taiga, a girl who lives on her own and can barely cook and clean for herself, and Ryuuji, a boy who lives at home with his mom, cooks like a top chef and cleans as if he has OCD. These two characters showed no interest in each other, yet decided to help each other out in their attempts to be with two other people, but ended up being together in one of the most heart-warming romances I’ve ever watched. I loved watching these two grow closer and closer together. It was kind of like witnessing the build up to a fight. You see two people start getting in each other’s faces and bad mouthing one another. Then push comes to shove, they exchange punches and you have the makings of a good ol’ fashioned beat down. And as the witness you see it slowly escalate and then all of a sudden you are seeing two people beat the shit out of each other. And the whole time you have a build up of excitement to the ultimate conclusion to which you respond “YES, THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT I WANTED TO HAPPEN!!”. Yeah, that’s pretty much how I felt about Taiga and Ryuuji’s slow build up of their relationship and the eventual conclusion of them being together.

 

Couple #5

 

Eugenie Danglars and Albert Morcerf. Two childhood friends forced into marriage because their fathers are big important figures in society and have tons of money. Two kids from aristocratic backgrounds. And the strange thing about them is that even though they were childhood friends, they have no feelings towards each other. At least at first. It isn’t until they find out how corrupt and twisted their own families and surroundings are that they finally realize that they only have each other. It’s when this eventual collapse of everything around them happens that they realize that they truly do love each other. I would go more into how certain events and people get in between them getting married and how that only brings them close together, but I don’t want to spoil Gankutsuou for those who haven’t seen it.

 

I left off two other couples from this list. Those couples being Furukawa Nagisa and Okazaki Tomoya and Kuronuma Sawako and Kazehaya Shouta. I leave Nagisa and Tomoya off because their relationship is surrounded by so many spoilers it makes my head spin and I left Sawako and Shouta off my list because I love Kimi ni Todoke so much that I could make a post in and of itself. So I will just leave it at this. Now if you will excuse me, I am off to go re watch every episode of Clannad with Kotomi in it. That and probably play more Katawa Shoujo. Cause why the hell not?

About lerxst2112
Former blog writer/podcast personality for Anime Afterlife Podcast and Desu Ex Machina and head writer for The Anime Kid. I've been watching anime consistently for 4 years now and see no end in sight. I love anything from Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, to Love Live, to Precure, and everything else in between. I also partake in video games, Magic: The Gathering, and sports (primarily American Football). I started writing back in 2011 when my friends over at Anime Afterlife Podcast decided to bring me on as a writer and podcast host. But once things started to fall apart there, I was brought on as a writer for Desu Ex Machina. But my time there ended and I decided to take a break from blogging to not only relax from blogging for a while, but to also sort out my personal life as well. Now I'm getting the itch to write again, and so The Anime Kid was born.

6 Responses to A Spotlight on Couples

  1. That whole section on Taiga and Ryuuji made my day. Great post, Lerxst.

  2. Y u no put Isaac and Miria =(

    • lerxst2112 says:

      I don’t really see them as a couple. More along the lines of a comedic duo of the robbing variety

      • But they are in love with each other, even though they don’t show it on screen.

      • zekana says:

        I agree with Dave, I always felt they were the type of couple that never needed to outwardly express their love for each other. They both know how they feel about each other and both enjoy the time they spend with each other. if not, why the hell would they be together for so looooooooooong?

        Also, why no love for Jacuzzi and Nice of Baccano? I always loved their interactions with one another and how innocent their love was. Thier kiss scene and Nice’s blushing face was the cutest thing i’ve ever seen in anime.

  3. chibirob says:

    Great post, and I agree with Lerxst on the Issac & Miria exclusion, they were comic relief not a “couple”. That being said… no love for Ranma & Akane?

Leave a Reply

