Anime Power Rankings: Winter 2012 Week 8

1. Nisemonogatari

Nisemonogatari has done something I never thought possible. It has taken teeth brushing, an activity that’s sole purpose is to clean, and turned it into the dirtiest thing I do every morning. Every time I brush my teeth from now on, I will only think of Koyomi straddling Karen with a toothbrush in her mouth. I don’t think I’ll even be able to go to the dentist anymore without the thought of my dentist trying to molest me as he tells me I need to floss better. Having said that, I still enjoyed every damn minute of this latest Nisemonogatari. How Shinbou and Shaft get away with stuff like this I will never know. Nor do I really care either. The main problem I saw with this latest episode is that this is the start of the Tsukihi arc, yet it was all about Karen with Tsukihi being in the episode for less than five minutes. Maybe next episode we’ll see Koyomi straddle Tsukihi as he tries to clean out her ears, like a better version of that weird scene from Hen Zemi.

2. Dashi Koukousei no Nichijou

This show has been consistently good throughout the entire winter season. And coming from the person who does not care for Sunrise anime, that’s saying a lot. The show’s use of the literature girl at the river side has yet to get old. And to be honest, I don’t think it will ever get old. Nor do I believe the crazy antics from the three main characters as they sit in Tadakuni’s house will get old either. I really do hope this show keeps it up with the comedy and doesn’t start to fade towards the end. Although to be honest, the show has shown no signs of it getting boring anytime soon.

3. Chihayafuru

ARATA IS BACK!! AND WHAT DID HE BRING WITH HIM? NEW LIFE TO THE SHOW!! Well, Chihayafuru already had some life to begin with, but with Arata making his way back into the show I’ve noticed how much he brings Chihaya and Taichi closer together just by being in the same room. It’s as if he is some sort of deity that they worship. Granted, Arata is the sole reason Chihaya and Taichi even show an ounce of interest in karuta so it makes sense that they “ooooh” and “aaaahhhh” over him whenever they watch him play. I just hope that he stays for good this time.

4. Bakuman 2

The second season of Bakuman is so much better than the first season that I almost want to compare it to how much better Working’s second season was to the first. Maybe this is stemming from the fact that I love romances and that I’m getting so much more of it in the second season that I like Bakuman 2 so much more than the first season. Or the fact that the show is centered around Mashiro and Takagi as actual mangakas instead of them trying to get serialized is all around more fun to watch. Whatever the reason, Bakuman 2 is a step up from its predecessor.

5. Ano Natsu de Matteru

This show is slowly becoming a true hit of the winter season behind Nichibros and Nisemonogatari. Once again, the romance loving side of me is showing because that’s what this show is at it’s core. That along with fanservice, Lemon trolling and a few twist and turns here and there really give this show its flavor. And that flavor is Lemon. Because come on, who doesn’t like Lemon, right?

This will pretty much be the format of how I do my Anime Power Rankings. If you want to check out the actual Anime Power Rankings for each week, check out Desu Ex Machina

About lerxst2112
Former blog writer/podcast personality for Anime Afterlife Podcast and Desu Ex Machina and head writer for The Anime Kid. I've been watching anime consistently for 4 years now and see no end in sight. I love anything from Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, to Love Live, to Precure, and everything else in between. I also partake in video games, Magic: The Gathering, and sports (primarily American Football). I started writing back in 2011 when my friends over at Anime Afterlife Podcast decided to bring me on as a writer and podcast host. But once things started to fall apart there, I was brought on as a writer for Desu Ex Machina. But my time there ended and I decided to take a break from blogging to not only relax from blogging for a while, but to also sort out my personal life as well. Now I'm getting the itch to write again, and so The Anime Kid was born.

5 Responses to Anime Power Rankings: Winter 2012 Week 8

  1. marshal M says:

    dead on about Ano Natsu. Nisemono makes me feel funny in the pants.

  2. But Lemon…. *puts on sunglasses* is a SOUR bitch. YEAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

    Also I’ve heard her name being called Remon instead. Not sure if its right.

    • chibirob says:

      I’ve also heard about the L/R deal with her name pronunciation and the general consensus is that it IS spelled Remon but “meant” to be Lemon for lack of the letter L in the Japanese alphabet In either case I’m dying to watch this and Nise once they are complete!

    • lerxst2112 says:

      God dammit Dave. Sometimes I just fucking hate you. Why must you do these things?

Leave a Reply

