Anime Movie Extravaganza

For the next 9 days, I am on Spring break time. And I am going to make sure I fill all that time with as much anime as I possibly can. Last year for Spring break I told myself I would start and finish at least two anime. I kind of completed that task by starting and finishing Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann and the first season of K-ON! Well this year is going to be a little different. This time around I will be having an ANIME MOVIE EXTRAVAGANZA. Basically I’ll just be watching as many anime movies for the next week as I possibly can (inbetween watching the airing shows and playing Mass Effect 3). So let me give you a run down of what I have lined up already for the next week.

Studio Ghibli

It is with the utmost embarrassment that I reveal to you that I have not seen all of the Studio Ghibli movies. Hell, I haven’t even seen half of them. The ones I have watched are Princess Mononoke, Spirited Away, Grave of the Fireflies, and The Borrower Arrietty. What I have lined up so far as for Ghibli movies are:

Howl’s Moving Castle

Kiki’s Delivery Service

Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind

Ponyo

Porco Rosso

My Neighbor Totoro

I will add the other Ghibli movies to this list as the week goes on, but these are the ones that I have ready to watch.

Gurren-hen and Lagann-hen

Since it has been exactly a year since I’ve watched anything Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann I decided to watch the Gurren-hen and Lagann-hen movies. It’s about that time where I introduced more Simon, Kamina, Yoko and Nia back into my life. That and seeing these characters break the 4th wall over and over and over again.

My physical copy anime movies

I have anime movies that have been sitting on my book shelf for quite some time now that need to be watched. I only have three of them but they are Eden of the East: Paradise Lost on Blu ray, Ghost in the Shell, and Perfect Blue. And if I really want to I could watch my copy of Ghost in the Shell 2.0. That is if I end up enjoying Ghost in the Shell so much that I want to re watch it with CGI. And I have a feeling that I will.

Kara no Kyoukai

Not much I have to say about these movies. It’s a series of 7 movies and I’ve heard some pretty nice things about them. So I decided to add these movies onto the pile.

Miscellaneous movies

And to round out this list I have three different movies  that were screened last year in Japan that I will be watching. Those movies are The Children who Chase Lost Voices from Deep Below, Makoto Shinkai’s latest film, Hotarubi no Mori e, the newest movie done by Brains Base, and The Princess and the Pilot, the latest movie from Madhouse studios.

This pretty much wraps up all the movies I have lined up for the next week. I may add a few here and there, more than likely the rest from Studio Ghibli, as the week goes on. And on top of watching these movies, I will be making a top 10 the following week to showcase my favorite movies from my week of cinema overload. So keep a look out for that. Now if you will excuse me, I have a fuck-load of anime movies to watch. This is going to be sweet.

About lerxst2112
Former blog writer/podcast personality for Anime Afterlife Podcast and Desu Ex Machina and head writer for The Anime Kid. I've been watching anime consistently for 4 years now and see no end in sight. I love anything from Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, to Love Live, to Precure, and everything else in between. I also partake in video games, Magic: The Gathering, and sports (primarily American Football). I started writing back in 2011 when my friends over at Anime Afterlife Podcast decided to bring me on as a writer and podcast host. But once things started to fall apart there, I was brought on as a writer for Desu Ex Machina. But my time there ended and I decided to take a break from blogging to not only relax from blogging for a while, but to also sort out my personal life as well. Now I'm getting the itch to write again, and so The Anime Kid was born.

2 Responses to Anime Movie Extravaganza

  1. If you have time, put some Satoshi Kon movies on that list like Perfect Blue and Paprika. They will blow your mind bro.

  2. chibirob says:

    If you haven’t seen it already and since your doing a Ghibli-thon And if its playing in your area check out Arietty,

Leave a Reply

