Anime Power Rankings: Winter 2012 Week 10

Best week of anime this entire winter season.

1. Bakuman 2

This was the best episode of Bakuman 2 so far. I think I truly realize why Hattori and Nizuma want to “fire up” Takagi and Mashiro so much. Because when they do, it really draws me in and gets me all excited about what new ideas they are going to create. This show has now become one of my favorite shows to watch each week. And it’s sad that I don’t see more people talking about Bakuman 2, because it is a large step above its predecessor.

2. Danshi Koukousei no Nichijou

I tell you what, my sides started hurting after watching the latest Nichibros. I could not stop laughing at this episode. It’s initial start was probably the best this season in my opinion, and it just keep it going with drop kick river side scene, the glasses skit, the student council deciding to ignore everything important on their agenda and decide what to eat instead, the upskirt scene (What did they see?), and everything else in between. Probably the best episode since episode 1 and 5. The only thing that would have made it better would have been a new Literature girl skit. I hope they bring that back next week. It is truly the best part about that show.

3. Mouretsu Pirates

I swear, Satelight must have heard what I was saying for the past few weeks when I asked for action and some sort of story, because that is what I’ve gotten these past two weeks. Mouretsu Pirates is getting good. It’s really making a name for itself and taking a step in the right direction. Granted, we haven’t seen any “pirating” so to speak, but at least it is becoming a show I look forward to watching each week. I see good thing to come from this show.

4. Nisemonogatari

Last week’s episode was lackluster. This week brought action, more fanservice, and the most severe broken neck I’ve seen in a Shaft anime in recent memory. This episode was awesome. Not “tooth brushing” awesome, but enough to make a statement for itself and telling everyone that it is not going to falter towards the end. And I called that last week when everyone was griping on how the show was going to fizzle out in the next two episodes.

By the way, I had no idea that Tsuhiki was Koyomi’s half sister. Imagine that.

5. Ano Natsu de Matteru

This episode had me in a whirlpool of emotions. I was happy that something finally happened with Ichika and Kaito and that they weren’t beating around the bush anymore, but sad for Kanna at the same time. This whole turn of events is going to make for one interesting ending. Oh and Kaito is a bitch. WHO THE FUCK TURNS DOWN A DATE WITH LEMON? I MEAN REALLY NOW. LET’S BE SERIOUS HERE PEOPLE. Ok having said that, Ano Natsu is still an enjoyable show. The fact that it has been at the bottom the past two weeks isn’t to say that it is bad in any way, shape, or form. It’s just that I like all the other shows better. Nothing more. Nothing less.

It’s weeks like this that make it so enjoyable to watch airing shows. I hope the rest of the winter season is as exciting and fun as this week’s was.

About lerxst2112
Former blog writer/podcast personality for Anime Afterlife Podcast and Desu Ex Machina and head writer for The Anime Kid. I've been watching anime consistently for 4 years now and see no end in sight. I love anything from Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, to Love Live, to Precure, and everything else in between. I also partake in video games, Magic: The Gathering, and sports (primarily American Football). I started writing back in 2011 when my friends over at Anime Afterlife Podcast decided to bring me on as a writer and podcast host. But once things started to fall apart there, I was brought on as a writer for Desu Ex Machina. But my time there ended and I decided to take a break from blogging to not only relax from blogging for a while, but to also sort out my personal life as well. Now I'm getting the itch to write again, and so The Anime Kid was born.

2 Responses to Anime Power Rankings: Winter 2012 Week 10

  1. I kinda want to catch up to Pirates but at the same time, I wasn’t too excited from what I saw from the first two episodes. I might give it a thorough watch sometime later in the year.

    • lerxst2112 says:

      Not gonna lie, the first 6-7 episodes tend to drag and not do a whole lot. But these past two weeks have been good so I’m hoping they keep this up and it doesn’t turn into some sort of mini arc followed by more slow paced nonsense

Leave a Reply

