Anime Weekend Atlanta 2012 Preview

Yup. It’s that time of the year once again. This Friday I will be attending Anime Weekend Atlanta once again. There will be many new faces to meet this year and also some returning ones as well. And let’s not forget the endless number of panels to attend, anime screenings to watch, merchandise to buy, cosplayers to photograph, and everything else in between. After printing off 20 pages worth of stuff to do at this year’s AWA, I have formulated a very tight schedule that I will try oh so hard to attend to. So here is my run down of all that I will be doing at this year’s AWA.

Anything labeled with “alternative” are other panels/screenings/whatever the hell else I will attend if I decide to not attend what I originally plan on attending, which is anything not labeled with “alternative”.

Day 1: Friday
12:00pm-1:00pm: Opening Ceremonies

The big, warm welcome to Anime Weekend Atlanta where they parade out all the guests they have lined up for the entire weekend. Nothing too much exciting happening here. If you want to see who all is going to be at this year’s AWA, go check out this year’s guest list.

12:30pm-1:30pm: Here Comes Prince Planet panel (alternative)

Whenever I bring up anything anime related to my dad, he always brings up how he used to watch Prince Planet as a kid. It’s practically the only Japanese animation he can name. So I might sneak a peak inside the panel and check it out just for his sake and to tell him I was given some exposure to part of his childhood

1:00pm-2:00pm: Johnny Yong Bosch panel

Good ol’ JYB panel to start things off at AWA. This is pretty simple. He’s gonna goof around and talk about stuff and answer questions. The usual English VA panel.

2:00pm-3:00pm: Suzoki Mimori panel

One of the reasons I’m excited about AWA this year. Suzoki Mimori who is the seiyuu for Himawari from Yuru Yuri. And other roles that I don’t really recognize. I really hope more people other than me go to her panel. It would be nice to see other outside support for a new seiyuu such as her. Hopefully I’ll be able to get something for her to sign while I’m there.

2:30pm-3:30pm: Johnny Yong Bosch Autographs (alternative)

3:15pm-4:30pm: Ryo Horikawa, Ayumi Kino and Suzuko Mimori Autographs

5:00pm-6:00pm: Ask an Anime Character panel

So this is something I’m doing just to kill time with. Essentially JYB, Vic Mignogna, and Trina Nishimura will stand on stage answering questions as their respective characters they have voice acted. Could be fun. Could be a big waste of time.

6:00pm-7:00pm: Video Game Wasteland panel (alternative)

This panel is just a roundtable sort of discussion on bugs, glitches, and other oddities found in video games. I might sneak a peak at this.

6:30pm-7:30pm: Sentai Filmworks panel

So I would usually not bother with going to a Sentai Filmworks panel, but seeing how much they have been licensing lately (especially during AX) I will attend to see what they have in store. I’m hoping they announce an Idolm@ster license. Oh man if they announce an Idolm@ster license at AWA, I will completely lose it. Here’s to hoping for some awesome news at that panel

7:00pm-8:00pm: Ryo Horikawa concert

Reinhard von Lohengramm himself is going to put on a little concert with Vic Mignogna. Should be interesting to say the least. Hearing Ryo and Vic belt out a few tunes. Or maybe Ryo will go into his Vegeta voice and Vic will do his Broly voice and they will go at it in some weird sort of Japanese/English tirade.  Now that would be something to see.

8:00pm-10:00pm: Totally Lame Anime

All you SCCSAV Terribad folk will get a kick out of this. Apparently this is a panel AWA does every year where they just play a bunch of, well, bad anime. I’m actually looking forward to this because I usually don’t sit down and watch really bad anime.

8:30pm-9:30pm: Vic Mignogna Autographs (alternative)

8:30pm-10:00pm: Funimation Town Hall

This is something new that I didn’t see last year at AWA. Apparently this is a panel that gives you an look at what’s going on at Funimation now-a-days. So essentially it’s just a second Funimation panel. Could be cool.

Day 2: Saturday (I realize you all know that day 2 and day 3 are going to be Saturday and Sunday, but I’m going to keep it in for the sake of uniformity)

So the start up to Saturday is going to be a bit slow compared to how jam packed my Friday will be. The Dealers room opens up at 10am rather than the 12pm on Friday. I may get up early and roam the Dealers room for a bit before my scheduled stops Saturday.

11:00am-1:00pm: The Borrower Arrietty screening (alternative)

12:15pm-1:30pm: Ryo Horikawa, Suzuko Mimori and Ayumi Kino Autographs (alternative)

12:30pm-1:30pm: Johnny Yong Bosch Autographs (alternative)

Which autograph time I go to depends really on which one I haven’t attended yet. Obviously.

1:00pm-2:00pm: Funimation panel

Last year’s Funi panel wasn’t all too spectacular. Only thing they mentioned was some release dates for anime I didn’t end up buying and that they licensed Guilty Crown and .hack//Quantum. Not the most exciting of panels. I hope this year’s panel will be a bit more eye-catching. They will probably talk about Steins;Gate, them licensing Jormungand PERFECT ORDER, aaaaaaand maybe all those DVD/BD releases coming out later this year. Who really knows what Funi will do.

3:00pm-4:00pm: Aniplex panel

Thank god this panel is during the afternoon this year. Last year’s Aniplex panel was at 8 in the fucking morning. And all they really talked about was Madoka and Ao no Exorcist. And other stuff I don’t remember because the panel was at 8 IN THE FUCKING MORNING! This year I expect them to discuss the Madoka movies, their recent license of Kara no Kyoukai and Bakemonogatari.

4:00pm-5:00pm: Vic Mignogna Autographs (alternative)

4:00pm-4:45pm: Suzuko Mimori Concert

This may or may not fall into an alternative stop. It really all depends on how much I really want to go see that. Which, in all honesty, I might want to go see.

5:00pm-6:00pm: Funimation Sneakpeeks (alternative)

This essentially boils down to a bunch of people sitting in a cramped screening room while Funi plays a bunch of trailers for series they are releasing or have recently released. May pass on it but who knows.

9:00pm-11:00pm: Mass Effect: Paragon Lost World Premiere screening

So I’ve been a fan of Mass Effect for a long time. And it’s not every day that you get to see an anime movie months before it’s supposed to be released. So I’m definitely going to try and get into this. I’m not expecting this movie to be spectacular in any way, shape, or form. Actually, it could be pretty mediocre. But I’ll go see it anyways cause why the fuck not.

Day 3: Sunday

There is next to nothing of interest to me happening Sunday. There are a couple of signings here and there, but that’s about it. I will more than likely spend the majority of Sunday in the Dealers room buying up whatever else it is that I MUST HAVE. And then wrap up the convention with closing ceremonies, go home and anticipate next year’s AWA.

Now this in no way represents everything that is going on at AWA. And this list could change at any time during the entire weekend. This is just what I expect/really want to do at the convention. Who knows, maybe I’ll get hammered again, get kicked out of another hentai screening, and get another lap dance from another Madoka cosplay (for those of you who haven’t heard that story, maybe one of these days I’ll tell you). Let’s hope I come out on the other side of this weekend with many other fun stories to tell. And just like last year, I will be tweeting nonstop the entire time I’m there giving you updates and what not as to who I see, what I buy, what’s announced, etc. So if you would like to be updated on all of that, follow me on twitter at @lerxst21121

About lerxst2112
Former blog writer/podcast personality for Anime Afterlife Podcast and Desu Ex Machina and head writer for The Anime Kid. I've been watching anime consistently for 4 years now and see no end in sight. I love anything from Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, to Love Live, to Precure, and everything else in between. I also partake in video games, Magic: The Gathering, and sports (primarily American Football). I started writing back in 2011 when my friends over at Anime Afterlife Podcast decided to bring me on as a writer and podcast host. But once things started to fall apart there, I was brought on as a writer for Desu Ex Machina. But my time there ended and I decided to take a break from blogging to not only relax from blogging for a while, but to also sort out my personal life as well. Now I'm getting the itch to write again, and so The Anime Kid was born.

One Response to Anime Weekend Atlanta 2012 Preview

  1. Your convention looks fucking boring this year.

Leave a Reply

