Start To Finish: Chocotto Sister – First Impressions

Name: Chocotto Sister
Studio/Director: Nomad/Yasuhiro Kuroda
Year: 2006
Wiki, AniDB
Subs: Retrofit
Episodes Seen: 2

An anime about little sisters? Yes, please.

Nomad, a studio I’m not very familiar with, has put out a number of adaptations such as Kampfer, OreTsuba, and Rozen Maiden, and much assistant animation for a lot of other shows like Ika Musume, Nodama Cantibile, Bleach and Brotherhood (then again, who hasn’t assisted the animation for that show?) So going randomly into another show from their pile leaves me in a bit of a blind spot of what to expect, except for some amount of fan service.

Within the first five minutes of episode one, I’m given what I expected. General little sister stuff. On top of that, there’s some supernatural aspect to the show, which is a little bit surprising, and might set the stage well for later, and also for something I’ll mention fairly soon. Let’s look at the little sister; the real reason anyone watched this show. She’s cute, she’s likeable, maybe not so original in character design, but her personality falls fairly far from the non-existant little sister tree. So it’s nice to see the little sister as a character I can like; she’s cute, and enjoyable to watch, considering she’s not much more than a child who’s got that blunt, learning personality.

For a 2006 anime, the production quality isn’t that bad. Of course, you’ll have to excuse Nomad for not reaching the standards of KyoAni’s Haruhi, or Madhouse’s Dennou Coil and The Girl Who Leapt Through Time. The character designs don’t stay plain, and there’s a fair amount of detail put into scenes here and there, but the other half of the time things seem a little clunky and uneven. On the other hand, the OP and ED do have noteworthy animation and detail compared to that of the show.

And surprisingly, in the two episodes I’ve watched, I’ve already seen a display of some depth in the show for some drama! And who doesn’t like drama? One part of it may have relation to the supernatural element, while the other is just the kind of thing that every show should have every once in a while.

So far, I like what I’m seeing, and I look forward to watching this anime.

About Suda
Video games and anime reviews.

3 Responses to Start To Finish: Chocotto Sister – First Impressions

  1. If I took the above picture and I wiped my ass with it, then she would be a true chocolate sister.

  2. Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the pictures on this blog
    loading? I’m trying to figure out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

  3. Tremendous things here. I am very glad to peer your post.
    Thanks a lot and I’m having a look ahead to contact you. Will you please drop me a mail?

Leave a Reply

